

# **Council on Graduate Education**

## **Committee Charter/Purpose:**

The Council serves to advise the Dean of Graduate Education on all matters pertaining to graduate education; establish and revise policies of graduate education; review and approve/disapprove of proposed graduate programs, courses, and revisions; review student applications for fellowships and scholarships sponsored by the Graduate Office and decide on awards; and conduct strategic planning for graduate education.

# **Committee Structure/Composition and Term:**

The committee consists of:

- One Department representative (of each department with at least one graduate program; selected by the Department)
- One Program representative (of each interdisciplinary/interdepartmental program, selected by the program steering committee)
- Non-voting representatives (optional; for Departments with no graduate programs)

The committee shall be led by a Chair, who is permanently established as the Dean of Graduate Education. Membership on the committee is not term based.

## **Committee Meeting Schedule:**

The committee shall meet twice each month during the academic terms.

#### **Committee Membership:**

- Maribeth Price (Chair, Dean of Graduate Education)
- Chemical and Biological Engineering Travis Walker
- Civil and Environmental Engineering Bret Lingwall
- Data Science and Engineering Christer Karlsson
- Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Christer Karlsson
- Geology and Geological Engineering Liangping Li
- Chemistry, Biology, and Health Sciences Rajesh Sani
- Industrial Engineering/Engineering Management Suhao Chen
- Materials Engineering and Science Bharat Jasthi
- Mechanical Engineering Albert Romkes
- Mining Engineering and Management Kelli McCormick
- Nanoscience and Biomedical Engineering Robert Anderson
- Physics Xinhua Bai

LAST UPDATED: January 2024

REFERENCE: Graduate Education Policy Preamble; Mines Policy II-09-3; Mines

Policy II-1-1

