Inclusion Committee

Committee Charter/Purpose:

The purpose of the Inclusion Committee is to engage students, employees, and industry partners on items related to the strategic priority of Campus Culture. This group is committed to promoting a community that welcomes and acknowledges various backgrounds, experiences, perspectives, and talents. The committee encourages collaborative dialogue focused on ensuring South Dakota Mines graduates are meeting the demand for STEM leaders in the global marketplace.

Committee Structure/Composition and Term:

The committee consists of:

- Co-Chair: Director of Inclusion
- Co-Chair: Associate Vice President for Human Resources
- Four staff
- Four faculty
- Student representative(s)
- One Campus Affiliated representative
- One industry representative

Committee members will serve three-year terms, with five rotating on even years and five rotating on odd years. Student members will rotate annually. Students are selected by Student Senate Association and can have up to two students represented. Industry partners will be selected from local businesses by the current IC members and will also rotate annually to allow for a broader sampling of partners. Co-chairs will remain on the committee indefinitely. Members may serve consecutive terms.

Committee Meeting Schedule:

The committee shall meet on a monthly basis and/or as needed.

Committee Membership:

- Cedric Collinge (Chair, Director of Inclusion)
- Dr. Micah Lande (2023)
- Dr. Erica Haugtvedt (2023)
- Dr. Martha Garlick (2024)
- Dr. Matthew Whitehead (2024)
- Dr. Andrea Surovek (2026)
- Beth Riley (Staff representative, 2026)
- Cassie Kosiba (2026)
- Christopher Pappas (2026)
- Megan Laskowski (2026)
 - Dawn Weiss (Campus Affiliate, 2026)
 - Wesley Quigley (Student representative, 2023)
- Kristine Watts, Black Hills Energy (industry representative)

LAST UPDATED: January 2024

Advancing the frontier of innovation

SOUTH DAKOTA MINES