

University Research Committee

Committee Charter/Purpose:

The Committee aids the Vice President for Research on research-related issues and helps to identify emerging areas and opportunities for the University.

The Committee purpose is to serve as a direct two-way communication channel that faculty and administration can use to convey issues and receive information about research-related concerns. The specific responsibilities of the Committee are:

- Encourage and support the intellectual and research interests of the faculty and students
- Provide a forum to discuss research-related issues at South Dakota Mines
- Promote multi-disciplinary research at South Dakota Mines
- Serve as departmental and research center liaison to inform faculty and students on the availability of support for research and professional development
- Advise on research, sponsored programs, and economic development policies that govern administration of externally funded research
- Assist the Vice President for Research in development of policies and procedures regarding research, intellectual property, patents, licensing, and commercialization
- Assist the Vice President for Research in a review process of internal white papers and proposals
- Assist the Vice President for Research in organization of research symposia and selection of recipients for research awards

Committee Structure/Composition and Term:

The committee consists of:

- Vice President for Research
- Associate Vice President for Research
- Director of Industry, Government and Community Engagement
- Graduate Dean
- Interdisciplinary Lab Directors
- Department representatives

The committee shall be led by a Chair, who is permanently established as the Vice President for Research. Membership on the committee is not term-based.

Committee Meeting Schedule:

The committee is scheduled for the second and fourth Tuesday of each month and shall meet at least monthly during the academic year.





University Research Committee

Committee Membership:

Chair, Vice President for Research: Laurie C. Anderson

- Associate Vice President Economic Development: Joseph Wright

 Director of Industry, Government, and Community Engagement: Ann Brentlinger

Dean of Graduate Education: Maribeth Price

- CBE: Lori Groven

- CBHS: Alevtina Smirnova

CEE: Tao Ye

EECS: Randy HooverGGE: Gokce UstunisikHASS: Bryce Tellmann

IE: Lin Guo
MET: Jon Kellar
MATH: Kyle Caudle
ME: Weibing Xing
MEM: Rudrajit Mitra

- NANO/BME: Congzhou Wang

PHYS: Frank Strieder
 AMP: Grant Crawford
 CAPE: David Salem
 EMES: Ed Duke

LAST UPDATED: January 2024

REFERENCE:

