Faculty and Staff

Interim Department Head / Professor
Email: scott.kenner@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1697
Office: CM 122
B.S., M.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Ph.D., University of Florida
Registered Professional Engineer (Colorado, South Dakota, Wyoming)
Assistant Professor
Email: Lois.Arneson-Meyer@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2446
Office: CM 121
B.S., Dakota State University
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
M.S., University of South Dakota
Research Scientist IV
Email: Sangchul.Bang@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2440
Office: CM 238
B.S., Seoul National University, Korea
M.S., Ph.D., University of California, Davis 
Assistant Professor
Email: Jennifer.Benning@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2425
Office: CM 241
B.S., Rutgers University
M.S., Virginia Tech
Ph.D., University of Alaska Fairbanks
Interim Construction Management and Engineering Program Coordinator
Email: Clifford.Bienert@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2439
Office: CM 245
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
M.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Associate Professor
Email: William.Capehart@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1994
Office: MI 213
B.S., University of North Carolina at Asheville
M.S., Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University Main Campus
Professor
Email: thomas.fontaine@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-5173
Office: CM 315
B.S., M.S., Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Assistant Professor
Email: Venkata.Gadhamshetty@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-1997
Office: CM 237B
B.S., Osmania University
M.S., National University of Singapore
M.S., New Mexico State University
Ph.D., New Mexico State University
Instructor
Email: Kathleen.Hanley@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2439
Office: CM 120
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
M.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Assistant Professor
Email: Bret.Lingwall@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-1683
Office: CM 311
B.S., University of Utah
M.S., University of Utah
Ph.D., University of Utah
Assistant Professor
Email: Soonkie.Nam@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1970
Office: CM 242
B.S., Ajou University
M.E., Ajou University
M.S., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Associate Department Head / Associate Professor
Email: Marc.Robinson@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2563
Office: CM 243
B.S., Utah State University
M.S., Utah State University
Ph.D., University of California-San Diego
Assistant Professor
Email: Christopher.Shearer@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2268
Office: CM 319
B.S., Ohio Northern University
M.S., Georgia Institute of Technology
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Associate Professor
Email: James.Stone@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2443
Office: CM 314
B.S., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
M.S., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University

Email: Andrea.Surovek@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-1932
Office: CM 236B
B.S., Purdue University
B.A., Purdue University
M.S., Purdue University
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Assistant Professor
Email: Keith.Whitaker@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-1694
Office: CM 123
B.S., University of Rhode Island
J.D., University of Maine
Fabrication Technician
Email: Forest.Cooper@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-6677
Office: CM 221
Program Assistant II
Email: Ellen.Haffner@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2490
Office: CM 119
B.S., Black Hills State University
Secretary
Email: Arlene.Lichtenecker@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2439
Office: CM 118

Emeritus Faculty

Marion (MR) R Hansen  
Professor Emeritus and Senior Lecturer 
Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE)
Email: MR.Hansen@sdsmt.edu
605-394-2439, Office CM 118
Education:
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
M.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Ph.D., North Caroline State University

Henry V. Mott (2015) 
Professor Emeritus
Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) 
Email: Henry.Mott@sdsmt.edu
Education:
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
M.SE., Washington State University
Ph.D., University of Michigan
 
Sangchul Bang  
Professor Emeritus and Research Scientist IV
Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE)                                                                             
Email: Sangchul.Bang@sdsmt.edu
605-394-2440
CM 238