Student Organizations

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) Student Chapter

Faculty Advisor:  Zeynep O. Baran (Zeynep.Baran@sdsmt.edu)
President: Ethan Mellville (Ethan.Melville@mines.sdsmt.edu)

The American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) student chapter aims to provide its members activities that promote the knowledge of oil and gas exploration, and to help students develop professional knowledge and ethics in preparation for careers in petroleum geology.  The chapter plans activities throughout the year to foster positive relationships and engagement with the petroleum industry as well as prepare for and participate in future Imperial Barrel Award competitions.

URL: https://sdsmt.collegiatelink.net/organization/petrogeology


Paleontology Club

Faculty Advisor:  Sally Shelton (Sally.Shelton@sdsmt.edu)
President: Jaron Boerner-Mercier (Jaron.Boerner-Mercier@mines.sdsmt.edu)

The Paleontology Club is an educational, scientific, and non-profit organization dedicated to promoting paleontology in the community. Membership is open to all students with an interest in paleontology and its related fields. The club sponsors monthly meetings, guest lecturers, field trips, and outreach activities at the Museum of Geology and in community classrooms.

URL: https://sdsmt.collegiatelink.net/organization/paleoclub


Society of Economic Geologists Student Chapter

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Colin Paterson   (Colin.Paterson@sdsmt.edu)
President: Mackenzie "Mac" Kester (Mackenzie.Kester@mines.sdsmt.edu)

SEG aims to provide its members with a variety of fun and service activities that promote knowledge of mineral deposits and mineral resources, and to help students develop professional knowledge and ethics in preparation for careers in economic geology.  The chapter plans field trips to regional mines and other localities, visits schools to interest students in geology careers, raises funds for member activities, and sponsors the weekly refreshments at the Friday seminars.

URL: https://sdsmt.collegiatelink.net/organization/seg


Society of Petroleum Engineering (SPE) Student Chapter

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Foster Sawyer (Foster.Sawyer@sdsmt.edu)
President:  Harrison "Chance" Costello (Harrison.Costello@mines.sdsmt.edu)

The Society of Petroleum Engineering (SPE) Student Chapter links our students to a global organization of petroleum engineering professionals involved in numerous aspects of the industry. Student activities include field trips to active drill sites and production facilities in the Williston and Powder River basins and informational seminars presented by professionals in exploration, drilling, and production engineering.

URL: https://sdsmt.collegiatelink.net/organization/petroleum


Tech Geological Association

Faculty Advisors:  Dr. Foster Sawyer (Foster.Sawyer@sdsmt.edu) and Dr. Kurt Katzenstein (Kurt.Katzenstein@sdsmt.edu)
President:  David LaPorte (David.Laporte@mines.sdsmt.edu)

TGA promotes student involvement in professional associations while providing a focus for fun and profession-building activities.  Each student in TGA must belong to at least one geoscience or engineering professional organization suited to their interests. 

URL: https://sdsmt.collegiatelink.net/organization/tga