Faculty and Staff

Michael K West

Department Head / Associate Professor
Email: Michael.West@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1283
Office: MET / MI 108
B.S.E., Arizona State University
M.S., Texas A & M University
Ph.D., University of Tennessee

Grant A Crawford

Assistant Professor
Email: Grant.Crawford@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-5133
Office: MI 104 / MET
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Ph.D., Arizona State University

William M Cross

Associate Professor
Email: William.Cross@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2485
Office: MI 110 / MET
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
M.S., Ph.D., University of Utah

Haiping Hong

Research Scientist IV

Email: Haiping.Hong@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1988
Office: MET / MI 111
B.S., Hangzhou University
M.S., Institute of Chemistry - Chinese Academy of Science
Ph.D., Hebrew University - Jerusalum

Stanley M Howard

Senior Lecturer and Professor Emeritus
Email: stanley.howard@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1282
Office: MI 114
B.S., Ph.D., Colorado School of Mines

Bharat Jasthi

Assistant Professor
Email: Bharat.Jasthi@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2342
Office: MI 101
B.Tech, JN Technological University
M.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Ph.D., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Jon J Kellar

Professor/Douglas Fuerstenau Professor
Email: jon.kellar@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2343
Office: MI 112 / MET
B.S., M.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Ph.D., University of Utah

M. Sadegh Safarzadeh

Assistant Professor
Email: Sadegh.Safarzadeh@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-1284
Office: MI 103
B.S., Sahand University of Technology
M.S., Iran University of Science and Technology
Ph.D., University of Utah

David R Salem

Professor
Email: David.Salem@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-5271
Office: CAPE
B.S., University of Bradford, U.K.
Ph.D., University of Manchester, U.K.

Christian A Widener

Associate Professor
Email: Christian.Widener@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-6924
Office: AMP / CM 236C
B.S., Wichita State University
M.S., Wichita State University
Ph.D., Wichita State University

James S Randle

Direct Write Lab Manager/Access Grid Administrator (Technology Integration Specialist)
Email: James.Randle@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-5210
Office: MET / TDL
A.A., Western Dakota Technical Institute

Cassie M Schweigerdt

Senior Accountant
Email: Cassie.Schweigerdt@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-6888
Office: MI 228 / MET
B.A., Chadron State College

Jessica A Zacher

Senior Secretary
Email: Jessica.Zacher@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2341
Office: MI 115 / MET
B.S., Black Hills State University

Emeritus Faculty

Han, Kenneth - Emeritus Professor Dr. Kenneth Han
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Materials and Metallurgical Engineering
and National Academy of Engineering Member
PhD University of California Berkeley
Hydrometallurgy and Mineral Processing




Stone, Glen - Emeritus Professor Dr. Glen Stone
Professor Emeritus of Materials and Metallurgical Engineering
PhD University of California Berkeley
Physical Metallurgy and Materials Characterization