Welcome to the Christensen Hall of Fame! This site is dedicated to the athletes, coaches, and builders that have made a significant impact on the School of Mines and the athletics department. The accomplishments and dedication of these these individuals and teams will also be remembered through the generosity of the Christensen family. Thank you!



RAPID CITY, S.D. --- The South Dakota School of Mines Athletics Dept., and the Hardrock Club are pleased to announce the 2016 Hardrocker Athletic Hall of Fame inductees: Steve Butherus (football), Jami (Barraclough) Kortan (women’s basketball), Mitch Ruedebusch (cross country and track & field) and the 1971-72 SD Mines men’s golf team.

The inductees will be honored during a banquet Saturday, Oct. 1, 2016, in the Christensen Hall of Fame Room at the King Center in Rapid City, S.D., and also will be recognized during halftime of the M-Day homecoming football game against Adams State later that night on Dunham Field at O’Harra Stadium.   

Butherus web

Steve Butherus (1975-78) was a versatile player for the Hardrocker football program playing a number of positions, including: quarterback, running back, wide receiver and defensive back as well as kick and punt returner.

Butherus finished his final season for SD Mines as arguably the most versatile player in the history of the college. He was a repeater on the All-SDIC and All-District 12 teams and led the nation in NAIA stats in punt returns (19.4 ave.). Butherus also still holds that record at SD Mines (1977) as well as the school record for kickoff returns --- averaging 27.1 yards in a season (1977). 

Jami Barraclaugh

Jami Barraclough Kortan (1996-2000) is the all-time leading scorer for the Lady Hardrocker women’s basketball program with 2,422 points and went to four-straight national tournaments which included NAIA national quarterfinals and semifinals appearances.

The Spearfish native was the 2000 South Dakota Women’s Basketball Player of the Year, was a four-time NAIA All-American selection, earned NAIA Academic All-American honors in 1999 and 2000, was a four-time SDIC All-Conference selection and was the 1997 SDIC Rookie of the Year.

Barraclough holds a number of other Hardrocker school records including: points in a season (698 in 99-00); points in a game (42 points in 98-99); attempts in a season (267 in 99-00); free throw attempts in a game (20 in 99-00); field goals made in a career (1,693 in 96-00); field goals made in a season (262 in 99-00); field goals made in a game (16 in 98-99); field goal attempts in a career (895 in 96-00); field goals attempted in a season (493 in 99-00); third on all-time rebounders list with 997; fifth all-time on steals list with 235; 12th on all-time blocking list with 61.

Mitch Rudebusch

Mitch Ruedebusch (1990-94) was a member of three championship cross country teams in his career (one conference championship and two district championships). He is also a three-time NAIA national cross country qualifier. In track & field Mitch earned an SDIC conference title in the men’s 5-kilometer race.

71 golf team

The 1971-72 SD Mines men’s golf team laid the foundation for success for several years to follow. The group of Hardrockers golfers, coached by Bob Hunt, won the SDIC conference and NAIA District 12 tournaments during the season to advance to NAIA National Tournament. Members of the team included: Steve Lux, Mark Lux, Jeff Walker, Ralph Wagner and Henry Mott.

  • 16bestseason
  • 16Teamcamp
  • 15RapidChevy


RMAC Logo 3





Games Listen

Stretch Internet

  • Taco Johns
  • NC1
  • RC Urgant Care
  • State Farm
  • First National Bank
  • US Bank
  • Baden
  • Respect use
  • BH Eye insittute
  • FIB
  • BHComunityFirst Bank
  • Rapid Chevy
  • FBL
  • Hills Material
  • Lintz Brothers
  • BMS
  • KLJ Sponsor s
  • 1FosterCare
  • Save A lot
  • Marcos
  • Subway
  • Dacohta Bank
  • Malone Engineering