Rohrer earns ICAA Freshman of Year honor
Release Date Tuesday, March 25, 2014

TIFFIN, OhioSouth Dakota School of Mines women’s basketball player Megan Rohrer was named the Independents Collegiate Athletic Association (ICAA) Freshmen of the Year for the 2013-14 season.

Rohrer averaged 9.65 points a game and shot 72 percent from the free throw line to top the rest of the nominees.

“This is an impressive award,” said Lady Hardrocker head coach Ryan Larsen. “Megan played her tail off this season and is really developing into a solid basketball player. She really contributed to our winning effort this season and I expect that tradition to continue in the future."

 Rohrer, an Industrial Engineering major from Green Village, Colo., led the Hardrockers in points (251), points per game (9.7), shooting percentage (.465), free throw percentage (.720), free throws made (54-75), offensive rebounds (43) and blocked shots (22).

 The ICAA gives out team honors and individual awards to those NCAA Div. II schools competing as independents.  This is the 10th year of the ICAA and the members are: Bluefield State (WV), Palm Beach Atlantic (Fla.), Oakland City University (Ind.), SD Mines, Spring Hill College (Ala.), Union University (Tenn.) and Washington Adventist (MD).  The awards were picked by ICAA Coordinator, Mike Bond.

 Coach of the Year was Mark Campbell who led the Union Bulldogs to a 20-6 record and the ICAA championship.  He is 476-66 in 15 years at UU. Player of the Year was Amy Philamlee of Union.  She averaged 17.77 points, 4.88 rebounds and 3.85 assists per game while shooting 49.1 percent from the floor, 42.7 percent on threes and 86.7 from the line.


Coach of the Year – Mark Campbell – Union

Player of the Year – Amy Philamlee - Union

Freshmen of the Year – Megan Rohrer – South Dakota Mines





    Jaz Green                             G      Palm Beach Atlantic                     Sr.        St. Petersburg, Florida

    LaTesa McLaughlin           G      Union                                              Sr.        Millington, Tennessee

    Kasie Parker                        G      Palm Beach Atlantic                     Sr.        Chuluota, Florida

    Amy Philamlee                   G      Union                                               Jr.        Jonesboro, Arkansas

    Lyndi Tedder                       G      Oakland City                                  Sr.        Madisonville, Kentucky




    Courtney Cayard            G/F      Washington Adventist                  Jr.        Washington, D.C.

    Astrid Huttemann              G      Union                                               Jr.        Asuncion, Paraguay

    Chelsea Jones                     G      Oakland City                                  Sr.        Austin, Indiana

    Shae Mebane                  C/F      Bluefield State                               Sr.        Greensboro, North Carolina

    Elissa VandeWaa               G      Spring Hill                                        Jr.        Spanish Fort, Alabama



    Nicole Derrickson              G      Washington Adventist                 Fr.        Landover, Maryland.

    Camry Johnson                   F      Spring Hill                                       Fr.        Mobile, Alabama

    Hope Marigny                 G/F      Oakland City                                  Fr.        Central City, Kentucky

    Megan Rohrer                    F      South Dakota Mines                   Fr.        Grand Village, Colorado

    Amee Smith                        G      Spring Hill                                       Fr.        Longview, Texas



RMAC Logo 3

new GNAC Logo

Blue Disk



Friday, November 14 - 5:30 PM
Rapid City, SD
Saturday, November 15 - 5:00 PM
Rapid City, SD
Tuesday, November 18 - 7:00 PM
Rapid City, SD
Saturday, November 22 - 1:00 PM
Sioux Falls, SD


Games Listen

America ONE

  • Marcos
  • Subway
  • Rapid Chevy
  • Hills Material
  • BMS
  • FIB
  • NC1
  • RC Urgant Care
  • BH Eye insittute
  • Dacohta Bank
  • State Farm
  • US Bank
  • Taco Johns
  • KLJ Sponsor s
  • Malone Engineering
  • Baden
  • Bookstore Logo