Sanctions for Common Violations

Students found responsible for violating the South Dakota Board of Regents Student Code of Conduct or South Dakota School of Mines & Technology policies or procedures are subject to sanctioning found in the Student Code of Conduct. Below are the standard sanctions often issued by the Student Conduct Office and the Residence Life Office. These standard sanctions are for reference only. Final sanctioning is determined by the Student Conduct Officer.

Illegally Downloading

  • 1st violation: Student must remove all illegal material from their computer, remove all downloading software, and demonstrate all materials have been removed.
  •  2nd violation: Choice of PowerPoint presentation, personal reflection paper, or $100 fine. Student must remove all illegal material from their computer and present it to the ITS Department upon request.
  • 3rd violation: $200 fine or thirty hours of community service, counseling session, and possible loss of computer access or suspension. Student must remove all illegal material from their computer and present it to the ITS department upon request.

Tobacco Policy Violation

  • 1st violation: Verbal or written warning
  • 2nd violation: $25 fine
  • 3rd violation: $50 fine
  • 4th violation: $100 fine and counseling assessment

Alcohol Policy Violation

  • 1st violation: $50 fine and completion of educational sanction
  • 2nd violation: $100 fine, completion of a brief alcohol assessment with counseling center staff (plus recommended action plan from counseling center), and parental notification
  • 3rd violation: Parental notification, $200 fine, probable suspension for at least a semester (in extenuating circumstances, student may stay enrolled but must complete an approved treatment program)

Drug Policy Violation

  • 1st violation: $50 fine, drug counseling (plus recommended action plan from counseling center), and possible parental notification
  • 2nd violation: $100 fine, completion of in-depth counseling assessment of at least 3 session (plus recommended action plan from counseling center), one-year disciplinary probation, and parental notification
  • 3rd violation: Parental notification, $200 fine, probable suspension for at least a semester (in extenuating circumstances, student may stay enrolled but must complete an approved treatment program)

Other Violations

  • The University reserves the right to fine for any student conduct violations, in an amount not to exceed $500. Fines will be determined by the Director of Student Conduct.
  •  A full list of possible sanctions can be found in the Student Code of Conduct