Student Development

Mission: To improve student life on campus by assessing student opinion and gauging of relevance in areas such as student rights, student discounts, university future, and parking. We use this input to help shape policy and direction of the Student Association.

  • Chair:  Harrison "Chance" Costello
  • Heather Goka
  • Zachary Hoon

Public Relations

Mission: To facilitate healthy communication between Student Association, student organizations, the student body, the administration, and the community.

  • Chair: Michael Leopold
  • Alexander Spilman
  • Taylor Evans
  • AJ Videckis


Mission:  Serving the Senate and student organizations by monitoring funds, appropriating SOAP and GAF monies, exploring financial opportunities, and informing students about funding issues that directly affect the quality and accessibility of their education.

  • Chair: Alexander Muchow
  • Nicole VanDerWolde
  • Kaitlyn Mahlik
  • Yanlin Li
  • Anthony Wright

Government Relations

Mission: Responsible for representing the Student Association to the city, state, and larger regions; lobbying various groups for higher education issues that directly impact SD Mines; recruiting and retaining members of Senate while pronouncing morale within the organization; and conducting elections.

  • Chair: Gina Rossi
  • Tait Earney
  • Tyler Rust
  • Gina Elmore


Mission: To maintain and uphold the Student Association constitution and facilitate the creation and continuation of student organizations.

  • Chair: Claire Peavey
  • Caleb Childers
  • Arianna Lopez