Monday, April 21, 2014
12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday, April 22, 2014
7:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday, April 23, 2014
Friday, April 25, 2014
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday, April 26, 2014
8:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday, April 28, 2014
9:00 AM - 9:30 AM
Tuesday, April 29, 2014
7:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Friday, May 02, 2014
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Sunday, May 04, 2014
9:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday, May 05, 2014
6:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday, May 09, 2014
12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Campus Calendar

Back to Calendar View
Event Details
Title:
SD GEARUP
Description:

More than 150 South Dakota eighth-grade students have been accepted to the SD GEARUP (Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Programs) Summer Honors program. The summer program is conducted on the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology campus from June 1 through July 14. More than 200 students from 35 schools and communities across South Dakota submitted written applications along with letters of recommendation from teachers for acceptance into the program. With the newly accepted students and the returning students, the SD GEARUP Summer Honors Program will serve over 320 students, the largest group since the summer program's inception 21 years ago.


The SD GEARUP summer program staff schedules classes for the students from 8 am-5 pm on campus. The evenings and weekends are programmed with study, athletic and cultural activities. Some of the newly developed classes for the program include a Microsoft App Building course and place-based learning activities presented over a three-week span by the PAST Foundation.


SD GEARUP provides a rigorous curriculum in a college setting to increase American Indian and low-income student graduation rates from high school and acceptance into post-secondary educational institutions.

The PAST Foundation is non-profit organization that is dedicated to making education better by promoting interdisciplinary, problem-based STEM learning. SD GEARUP is pleased to partner with Microsoft and the PAST Foundation to help develop innovative methods of learning for attending students.

 

Contact for more information - Darla Drew Lerdal at 605-341-5940 or Debbie Phelps at dkphelps3@gmail.com

When:
Saturday, June 15, 2013 All Day