News Releases

Legislative crackerbarrels to be held on Mines campus
Release Date Tuesday, January 14, 2014

RAPID CITY, S.D. (Jan. 14, 2014) – The 2014 legislative crackerbarrels will be Saturdays, Jan. 18, Feb. 1, Feb. 22 and March 1, on the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology campus. Each event will run from 9-11 a.m. in room 204 of the Classroom Building and will feature five-minute presentations by area legislators, followed by a 75-90 minute question-and-answer period. The following is a list of legislators scheduled to present at each event:  

  • Jan. 18:     Sen. Craig Tieszen

                         Rep. Brian Gosch     

                         Rep. Jacqueline Sly                    

  • Feb. 1:      Sen. Mark Kirkeby

                        Rep. Kristen Conzet

                        Rep. Lance Russell

                        Rep. Chip Campbell 

    • Feb. 22:   Sen. Alan Solano  

                            Rep. David Lust

                            Rep. Don Kopp     

                            Rep. Scott Craig 

    • March 1: Sen. Bruce Rampelberg

                          Sen. Phil Jensen

                          Rep. Mike Verchio

                          Rep. Dan Dryden

     The crackerbarrels are hosted by the Government Affairs Committee of the Rapid City Area Chamber of Commerce and are open to the public. 


    About SDSM&T

    Founded in 1885, the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology is a science and engineering research university located in Rapid City, S.D., offering bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees. The university enrolls 2,640 students from 45 states and 37 countries, with a student-to-faculty ratio of 14:1. The average starting salary for graduates is $62,400 with a 98 percent placement rate. Find us online at, on Facebook at and on Twitter at