Commencement Committee

Committee Charter/Purpose:

The Committee aids the President in arranging commencement activities.

Committee Structure/Composition and Term:

The committee consists of individuals who are either appointed to represent their constituencies or included on the committee by virtue of their positions with the university. These include:

- One Faculty (appointed by Faculty Senate)
- Academic Affairs representative (appointed by the Provost)
- Registrar (or designee)
- AVP for Enrollment Management or Admissions representative
- Director of the University Bookstore
- President's Office representative (appointed by the President)
- AVP for Student Development and Dean of Students
- Graduate Education representative (appointed by Dean of Graduate Education)
- Military Science representative (appointed by director of Military Science)
- Director of Music
- Director of Information Technology Services
- Marketing & Communications representative
- Two Student Association Senate representatives (appointed by Senate)

The committee shall be led by a chair appointed by the President. In the absence of the appointed chair, the President's Office representative shall chair the committee. Membership on the committee is not term based, but student representatives are appointed by Senate on an annual basis.

Committee Meeting Schedule:

The committee shall meet at least once a semester (usually October and March). Additional meetings can be scheduled by the chair as needed.

Current Committee Membership:

- Haley Armstrong (Co-Chair/Director of Music)
- Saurabh Dhiman (Faculty)
- Joseph Dlugos (Associate Vice President for Student Development & Dean of Students)
- Diana Eastman (Registrar)
- Gina Fiorello (Academic Affairs Representative)
- Jade Herman (Co-Chair/President's Office/Marketing & Communications)
- Rachel Howard (Graduate Education)
- Marlin Kinzer (Director, University Bookstore)
- Eliza McCallum (Student Senate)
- LTC Max Rovzar
- Bryan Schumacher (Director of ITS)
- Cicily Strong Hughes (Admissions)
- Calvin Thom (Student Senate)

LAST UPDATED: November 2023 REFERENCE: None

Advancing the frontier of innovation

SOUTH DAKOTA MINES