

Faculty Senate

Committee Charter/Purpose:

Faculty Senate represents the faculty in providing advice to the University President and Vice President for Academic Affairs on all matters relating to the responsibilities of faculty. The Faculty Senate also makes recommendations to the faculty on matters of concern to the faculty.

Committee Structure/Composition and Term:

The committee consists of:

15 elected members; one member from each academic department.

The committee shall be led by a Chair, who is elected by the faculty. Members are elected to serve two-year terms and may serve up to two consecutive terms.

Elections are held in March and terms commence at the beginning of the Fall contract period. Any member of the faculty may vote in the election of representatives from his/her academic department and is eligible for election as an academic department representative

Committee Meeting Schedule:

The committee shall meet on the second Thursday of each month during the academic year.

Committee Membership:

- Kurt Katzenstein (Chair)
- Sara Racs (Chemistry and Applied Biological Sciences)
- Rajesh Shende (Chemical and Biological Engineering)
- Haley Armstrong (Humanities and Social Sciences)
- Martha Garlick (Mathematics)
- Vladimir Sobolev (Physics)
- Rohan Loveland (Electrical Engineering and Computer Science)
- Kevin Ward (Geology and Geological Engineering)
- Khosro Shahbazi (Mechanical Engineering)
- PT Tukkaraja (Mining Engineering and Management)
- Bharat Jasthi (Metallurgical Engineering)
- Christopher Shearer (Civil Engineering)
- Scott Wood (Nanoscience and Biomedical Engineering)
- Saurav Kumar Dubey (Industrial Engineering)

LAST UPDATED: January 2024

REFERENCE:

