

Institutional Biosafety Committee

Committee Charter/Purpose:

The Committee serves to review and approve the biological safety of all SD Mines research activities involving recombinant DNA (rDNA), infectious agents, toxins, prions, and/or human tissue and fluids.

Committee Structure/Composition and Term:

The committee consists of:

- Campus community members who represent different types of biological research on campus
- Two Community Members

The committee shall be led by a Chair, who is elected within the committee on a triennial basis. Membership on the committee is by invitation and not term based.

Committee Meeting Schedule:

The committee shall meet as needed based on biosafety protocol submissions, at least annually.

Committee Membership:

- Dr. Scott Wood (Chair)
- Margaret Smallbrock (Biosafety Officer)
- Aaron Grimm (EHS representative)
- Jerilyn Roberts (Facilities representative)
- Dr. Rajesh Sani
- Dr. Brian Barth
- Dr. Tim Brenza
- Dr. Tugba Ozdemir
- Dr. David Slama (Community Member)
- Dr. Russel Enns (Community Member)

LAST UPDATED: November 2021

REFERENCE: https://www.niehs.nih.gov/about/boards/ibc/index.cfm

