Student Association Senate

Committee Charter/Purpose:

The Senate governs in the best interest of the students; directs student organizations within the University and represents the students before the citizens of South Dakota. The Student Association's power is subject to the laws of South Dakota and the rules established by the South Dakota State Board of Regents. The Student Association of the South Dakota Mines is an organization of all registered students who have paid activity fees. Through its officers and committees, it is involved in all student activities.

Committee Structure/Composition and Term:

Positions in the Student Association Senate are by election and by appointment. There are five elected officers from each class (Freshman through senior), four appointed representatives (Veteran, Graduate, International, and Non-Traditional Student), and an elected Vice-President and President. All appointments are made by the Student Association President and confirmed by the Student Senate. Terms of office are for one year. When there is a mid-term vacancy, positions are filled as needed through appointment. Each senator is appointed to one of the five standing committees: Constitution, Public Relations, Governmental Relations, Student Affairs, and Finance.

Committee Meeting Schedule:

The Senate shall meet weekly and are open to all students, faculty, and staff.

Committee Membership:

- President
 - Sam Kessinger
- Vice President
 - Ben Lewis
- Chief Financial Officer
 - Abigail Van Ruler
- Secretary
 - Andrew Garcia
- Student Affairs Chair
 - Eliza McCallum
 - Governmental Relations Chair
 - Hagan Archer
- Public Relations Chair
 - Madelyn Siekmann
- Constitution Chair - Clive Uy

Advancing the frontier of innovation

SOUTH DAKOTA MINES



Student Association Senate, cont.

- Senior Senators
 - Eliza McCallum
 - Jordan Harter
 - Kaden Jerke
 - Yash Naik
 - Isaac Nedved
- Junior Senators
 - Hagan Archer
 - Brady Dumont
 - Sam Twing
 - Madelyn Siekmann
 - Duncan Pilling
- Sophomore Senators
 - Clive Uy
 - Nicholas Lockwood
 - Adedokun Alarape
 - William Kuhl
 - Jordan Lannerd
- Freshman Senators
 - Nathan Sattler
 - Augustus Fink
 - Jonathon Schock
 - Karson Lindwurm
 - Parker Smith
- Graduate Student Senator
 - Calvin Tohm
- International Student Senator
 - Niven Fernandes
- Non-Traditional Student Senator
 - Ryan Cantz
 - Veteran's Senator
 - Patrick Winter

LAST UPDATED: January 25, 2024 REFERENCE:

Advancing the frontier of innovation