Music Scholarships

Music scholarships are awarded each year based on competitive auditions to students who:

1) are in at least their second full-time semester at South Dakota Mines
2) are registered in a degree-granting program
3) have been involved in a music ensemble at South Dakota Mines
4) have a cumulative GPA of at least 2.5

Award winners may audition again during their award year for the following academic year. Instrumental award winners are expected to enroll in University Orchestra, University Band, Wind Ensemble and/or Jazz Band for the academic year and perform a leadership role in one of those ensembles. Vocal award winners are expected to enroll in University Choir, Men's and Women's Choir and/or Master Chorale, assuming a leadership role in one of those ensembles. Keyboard award winners choose to audition for either band or choral awards at the time of application. Keyboard award winners will thus be expected to be involved in the ensemble(s) of that category at the discretion of the appropriate Director.  

Before you apply, read these Thoughts about Music Scholarships at South Dakota Mines

The number of scholarships and the amount awarded is based on two factors:
1. The monies available to be awarded, determined by the South Dakota Mines Foundation, which handles Music Scholarship investments.
2. The number and quality of the applicants, which varies from year to year.

Register to Audition

Available Scholarships

South Dakota Mines Music Scholars Award   

This scholarship attempts to identify and reward students who are leaders in music ensembles on campus. It was established by Director of Music, Dr. James D. Feiszli, using funds generated from donations at the annual holiday choral concerts. 2018-19 recipients: Ranjun Singh, Rebecca Johnson and Steven Miklos.

Charles Hallstrom Memorial Scholarship

The Charles Hallstrom Memorial Scholarship award was established in 2013 in honor of Charles, or Chuck, who tragically lost his life in 1970 while fighting in Vietnam. Hallstrom was a South Dakota Mines student who actively participated in the Singing Engineers, the top vocal group on campus at that time. 2018-19 recipient: Alex Tiede

Larry Huisenga Music Scholarship

Used to further Music Activities at South Dakota Mines, the Larry Huisenga Vocal Music Fund was established by Tamera J. Nelson (MetE86) in honor of her father, who was a lifelong singer.  It may be used as a scholarship award in any year at the discretion of the Director of Music. 2018-19 recipients: Christopher Oram, Jacey Merkle and Kole Pickner

Eileen Heilman Scholarship

2018-19 recipient: Estefany Mendivil Rodriguez

Margret MacIntosh Music Scholarship  

This scholarship was established by Dan (ChE' 77) and Nancy Carlson in honor of Dan's aunt Margret. It is to be awarded to a student who is active in the university music program. 2018-19 recipient: Kenji Johnson

Ronald F. & Eunice A. Miller Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to a student of good academic standing who is involved in a vocal ensemble and comes from South Dakota, the Miller Memorial Scholarship was established by Kenneth Miller (EE75) in memory of his parents. 2018-19 recipient: Hannah Covey

Karen Whitehead Scholarship

The Karen Whitehead Music Scholarship fund was established in honor of former Provost Dr. Karen Whitehead to assist students who share her love of music. The Whitehead Scholarship is awarded to any student involved in the music program upon recommendation from the music director. 2018-19 recipient: Nathan Ducasse

Music Supporters in Concert Scholarship

2017-19 recipient: Adrian Epp, Aidan Anderson, Cole Steffen, Cooper Timm, David Janssen, Duncan McGonagle, Dustin Richards, Estefany Mendivil Rodriguez, Ethan Nesbit, Evan Tellinghuisen, Ezra Grothe, James Gormley, Jared Smith, Joshua Burkart, Keagan Peters, Kyle Mullette and Summer Rogers 

Arjun Ayyangar Music Scholarship

Established by Narasimhan (Vijay) Ayyangar (M.S.ChE89), this scholarship honors his son Arjun Ayyangar, an accomplished multi-instrumentalist, and his musical ability. Award recipients may not receive this award twice. They may, however, audition again for a different award. 2018- 19 recipient: Kyle Bergevin

String Theory Scholarship

2018-19 recipient: Trevor Bormann