OLC Food Sovereignty

WebsiteCoverPhoto2(2)

 Our Project 

The OLC Food Sovereignty Project is a project to eliminate the food desert currently existing on the Pine Ridge Reservation. By definition, a food desert is an area lacking in fresh fruit, vegetables, and other healthy food choices, usually because of an absence of food providers like grocery stores and farmers markets in the area. SD Mines involvement in this project started in 2014; that year, a greenhouse was built with the intention of producing more healthy food that would be accessible to the community. Our current goal is to make repairs to the greenhouse that will allow it to be fully functional year round.

 

Project Partner

Oglala Lakota College

Oglala Lakota College is based out of Kyle, South Dakota, located on Pine Ridge Reservation. Their mission is to provide the Lakota with outstanding graduates, while teaching the value and practice of tribal sovereignty, thus allowing students to gain meaningful employment and live healthier, fuller lives. The college seeks to improve its community through the teaching and practice of Lakota cultural values and philosophy,thereby educating and developing the leaders of tomorrow and revitalizing Lakota Language and Culture as a whole.

Our Team

   John

John Rapp

Mechanical Engineering

Senior                                                                                

   Mitchell

Mitchell Kovash

Mechanical Engineering

Senior

   Adonnis

Adonnis Martinez

Civil Engineering 

Senior                                                                              
 

   Emelia

Emelia Nelson

Civil Engineering

Freshman

Advisors and Collaborators

Dr. Andrea Surovek, ME/CEE (Andrea.Surovek@sdsmt.edu)

Dr. Jennifer Benning, CEE (Jennifer.Benning@sdsmt.edu)

Dr. Daniel Dolan, ME/CAMP (daniel.dolan@sdsmt.edu)

Contact Us

EPICS WeGrow2 Team 
 
john.rapp@mines.sdsmt.edu
mitchell.kovash@mines.sdsmt.edu
adonnis.martinez@mines.sdsmt.edu
emelia.nelson@mines.sdsmt.edu