Minutes of Faculty Senate Meeting

May 13, 2010

Chair David Boyles called the meeting to order at 11:01 a.m. Senators present: Professor Dan Kratzer, Drs. Dimitrios Anagnostou, Bill Capehart, Bob Corey, Patrick Gilcrease, Stan Howard, Chuck Kliche, Colin Paterson, Frank Van Nuys. Senators-elect present: Drs. Bill Cross, John Dreyer, Travis Kowalski, P.V. Sundareshwar, Charles (Chip) Tolle.

Upon motion of Chuck, seconded by Stan, the agenda for today's meeting was approved.

Upon motion of Bob, seconded by Stan, the minutes for the April 15, 2010 Faculty Senate meeting were approved.

Report From the Chair

- The University Cabinet approved the revised final exam policy that was drafted by the Senate's Academic Affairs committee and approved by the Senate.
- The plus/minus grading issues has not been presented at an AAC meeting yet.
- Policy changes relating to faculty refer to BOR policy manual, Section IV.

Reports of Standing Committees

- A. Academic Affairs: Dr. Burgoyne. No report
- B. Research and Scholarly Affairs: Dr. Capehart. No report
- C. Finance and Personnel: Dr. Howard. No report
- D. Student Affairs: Dr. Van Nuys. No report
- E. University Relations: Professor Kratzer. No report

Old Business

Student Association Resolution—draft Senate language

'The Faculty Senate concurs with Student Association Resolution 10/S/012 that the style and color of the "M" of the School of Mines logo is easily confused with that of other institutions. The remarkable similarity of the current logo serves to subordinate SDSM&T to more recognized institutional logos and institutions. A more singular logo for SDSM&T would better serve to distinguish and bring distinction to SDSM&T. The Faculty Senate requests reconsideration of the current logo.'

Frank moved, seconded by Stan, that the language be approved as an official Senate resolution in addition and in support of the Student Association Resolution. Motion carried.

Pat, seconded by Stan, moved that the Faculty Senate support the Student Association Resolution relating to the use of the official seal by students and university departments. Motion carried 6-3.

New Business

- New Senators—introductions: Drs. Bill Cross (MET); John Dreyer (Social Sciences); Travis Kowalski (Math/Computer Science); P.V. Sundareshwar (IAS); Charles Tolle (EE, CENG)
- Installation of Dr. Stan Howard, Chair of the Faculty. Dr. Howard presented departing Chair David Boyles with a commemorative plaque.
- Stan set September 9, 2010, 11:00 a.m. as the first meeting for the next term of the Faculty Senate. Communications policies will likely be a significant issue.

Upon motion by Chuck, seconded by Frank, the meeting adjourned at 11:53 a.m.