Virtual go to mines

Virtual Go to Mines Open House

This is the one stop for all the videos and presentations associated with our virtual open house. Sit back and learn more about many of the amazing opportunities at the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology! 

Virtual Go To Mines Resources:

  • Recorded Virtual Information Fair
    • Use the links below in the Major Resources section to view different videos, presentations, and curriculums of South Dakota Mines’ academic departments and student services.

    Academic Departments

    Dive deeper into our STEM majors and the opportunities they offer! Follow the links to each major’s curriculum and choose from our collection of recorded videos and presentations to learn how we do STEM at South Dakota Mines. Feel free to reach out to the contacts listed with any questions you have. We’d love to hear from you!

    Department Major Resources Contact
    Atmospheric & Environmental Sciences Introduction Video
    ATM Curriculum
    Adam.French@sdsmt.edu 
    Biomedical Engineering Introduction Video
    BME Curriculum
    Robb.Winter@sdsmt.edu
    Business Management in Technology Introduction Video
    BMT Curriculum
    Student Entrepreneurship
    Lance.Roberts@sdsmt.edu
    Chemical Engineering CHE Curriculum
    BIOCHEM Specialization
    Kenneth.Benjamin@sdsmt.edu
    Chemistry, Biology, and Health Sciences Introduction Video
    BIO Curriculum
    CHEM Curriculum
    PREHEALTH Curriculum
    Zhengtao.Zhu@sdsmt.edu
    Civil and Environmental Engineering Introduction Video
    CEE Curriculum
    James.Stone@sdsmt.edu
    Computer Science and Engineering Introduction Video
    CENG Curriculum
    CSC Curriculum
    Jeff.McGough@sdsmt.edu
    Electrical Engineering Introduction Video
    Department Tour Video
    EE Curriculum
    Thomas.Montoya@sdsmt.edu
    Geology and Geological Engineering Introduction Video
    GEO Curriculum
    GEOE Curriculum 
    Laurie.Anderson@sdsmt.edu
    Industrial Engineering and Engineering Management Introduction Video
    IEEM Curriculum
    Jeffrey.Woldstad@sdsmt.edu
    Mathematics Introduction Video
    MATH Curriculum
    Travis.Kowalski@sdsmt.edu
    Mechanical Engineering Introduction Video
    Lab Tour Video
    ME Curriculum
    Pierre.Larochelle@sdsmt.edu
    Metallurgical Engineering Introduction Video
    MET Curriculum 
    Michael.West@sdsmt.edu
    Mining Engineering and Engineering Management Introduction Video
    MEM Curriculum
    Robert.Hall@sdsmt.edu
    Andrea.Brickey@sdsmt.edu
    Physics Introduction Video
    SPS Club Video
    Physics Student Video
    PHYS Curriculum
    Physics Brochure PDF
    Richard.Schnee@sdsmt.edu
    Science, Technology and Society Introduction Video
    STS Curriculum
    Allison.Gilmore@sdsmt.edu

    Virtual Campus Tours and Videos

    Tour the South Dakota Mines campus and some of our favorite spots in Rapid City through videos and our virtual tours!

    Housing and Dining
    Contact: ResLife@sdsmt.edu

    South Dakota Mines and Beyond Tour
    Residence Hall Tour
    Campus Flyover
    Virtual Campus Tour
    Virtual Tour - Residence Halls

    Student Life and Services

    Discover how South Dakota Mines supports students by exploring our collection of student life and services videos and presentations! Reach out to the contacts to ask questions and delve into the web pages to learn more about what each office does.

    Office Resources Contact
    Athletics Football Video
    Men's Basketball Video
    Women's Basketball Video
    Volleyball Video 
    Staff Directory
    Career and Professional Development Center Recorded Presentation Matthew.Hanley@sdsmt.edu
    Center for Inclusion Recorded Presentation Jesse.Herrera@sdsmt.edu
    Dean of Students and Parent Resources Introduction Video DeanOfStudents@sdsmt.edu
    Devereaux Library Introduction Video Library@sdsmt.edu
    Esports Introduction Video Michael.VanderHeyden@sdsmt.edu 
    Financial Aid Schedule a Virtual Visit
    Contact Financial Aid PDF
    FinancialAid@sdsmt.edu 
    Ivanhoe International Center Recorded Presentation
    #YouAreWelcomeHere Video
    Recorded Presentation - Global Opportunities
    International@sdsmt.edu
    Music Department Introduction Video
    Music PDF
    Haley.Armstrong@sdsmt.edu (Band)
    Matthew.Bumbach@sdsmt.edu (Choir)
    Tammy.Schnittgrund@sdsmt.edu (Orchestra)
    Pre-Health Pathways Introduction Video  Pre-Health@sdsmt.edu
    Military Science/Army ROTC  Introduction Video ArmyROTC@sdsmt.edu
    SLICE (Student Leadership Involvement Community Engagement) Recorded Presentation  Cory.Headley@sdsmt.edu
    Student Success Center Introduction Video Lisa.Carlson@sdsmt.edu
    Wellness Center
    Intramurals
    PowerPoint Presentation Michael.VanderHeyden@sdsmt.edu
    WiSE (Women in Science and Engineering) Introduction Video wise@sdsmt.edu