Tomorrow
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Thursday, February 28, 2019
4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Friday, March 01, 2019
Saturday, March 02, 2019
Sunday, March 10, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
All Day
All Day
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019

Campus Calendar

Back to Calendar View
Event Details
Brown Bag Presentation

Humanities & Social Sciences Presents "How Do We Recognize Fictional Character Across Adaptations, Reboots, and Sequels?" In this talk, Dr. Haugtvedt theorizes how audiences allow characters to re-appear and grow across books, plays, movies, and TV shows that may also present conflicting storylines. Transfictional characters are characters who migrate across different texts that do not necessarily share the same creator. Drawing upon characters from the Victorian period and early twentieth century (such as Sherlock Holmes), Dr. Haugtvedt argues that serialization prepares audiences to recognize the “object permanence” of character. Serialized narratives are long-running stories told in a series of connected episodes. Dr. Haugtvedt concludes by provisionally suggesting that, rather than modeling fictional character on implied humans, a better model for transfictional characters might be dolls.

Tuesday, February 20, 2018 11:00 AM - 11:50 AM
Classroom Building, Room 309