Inclusion & Diversity


South Dakota School of Mines & Technology is committed to cultivating an inclusive learning environment where faculty, staff, and students can grow and succeed. We value the diversity of unique backgrounds, experiences, perspectives, and talents within our community. It is our goal to promote a culture of respect, honor, understanding, integrity, and collaboration. It is through this diversity and inclusion that we find our strength.

SD Mines is dedicated to promoting a safe and inclusive environment for students, faculty, and staff. SD Mines is governed by the South Dakota Board of Regents (SDBOR) and follows all SDBOR policies. Below are links to policies relevant to those interested in inclusion and diversity.

Harassment including Sexual Harassment 1:17  

Equal Opportunity, Non-discrimination, Affirmative Action 1:19  

Inclusion Committee


The purpose of the Inclusion Committee is to recommend and implement programs that would encourage and enhance an inclusive culture at the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology. The committee will promote intercultural competence on campus and serve as advisors for other diversity-related goals and initiatives. 



  • Co-Chair: Jesse Herrera
  • Co-Chair: Rachel Mannhalter

Faculty Member

  • Dr. Luke Corwin (2020)
  • Dr. Darrin Pagnac (2020)
  • Dr. Laura Kremmel (2021)
  • Dr. Matthew Bumbach (2021)

Staff Member

  • Beth Riley (2020)
  • Julia Easton (2020)
  • Graham Davis (2021)
  • Philip Hunt (2021)

Campus Affiliated Member

  • Heather Fannin (2020)

Student Members

  • Enzo Tessaro (2019)
  • Aaron Campbell (2019)


Committee members will serve three-year terms, with five rotating on even years and four rotating on odd years. Student members will rotate annually. Co-chairs will remain on the committee indefinitely. Members may serve consecutive terms.