Mines News

Release Date Thursday, September 6, 2018

Mines Celebrates Homecoming with Rocker Days Events

RAPID CITY, SD (Sept. 5, 2018) – Rocker Days (M-Week) at the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology is set for Sept. 8-16, with a wide range of activities planned for students, alumni and the community.

The celebratory week kicks off on Saturday, Sept. 8, with the Helluva Night Concert featuring Neon Trees with special guest Lost Kings. The highlight of the week’s activities will be the Rocker Days Hardrocker football game against Simon Fraser at 5 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 15.

Activities throughout the week include a picnic at Dinosaur Park, coronation of the king and queen, whitewashing the "M" on M Hill and the Wharton Memorial Run.

The full Rocker Days schedule

Saturday, Sept. 8

Sunday, Sept. 9

  • Senior/frosh picnic, 12 p.m. at Dinosaur Park
  • Paint the Town, 2 p.m. in Downtown Rapid City

Monday, Sept. 10

  • Introduction of candidates and comedian Michael Palascak, 7 p.m. at Surbeck Ballroom

Tuesday, Sept. 11

  • Free Armadillo's ice cream, 4 p.m. at Armadillos. 

Wednesday, Sept. 12

  • Elks Theatre movie night

Thursday, Sept. 13

  • Coronation and bonfire, 7 p.m. at King Center Goodell Gym

Friday, Sept. 14

  • M Hill picnic and hill climb; whitewashing the "M," 12 p.m. at Founder’s Park

Saturday, Sept. 15

Sunday, Sept. 16

  • Unpaint the Town, 2 p.m. in Downtown Rapid City

###

About South Dakota Mines  

Founded in 1885, South Dakota Mines is one of the nation’s leading engineering, science and technology universities. South Dakota Mines offers bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees and a best-in-class education at an affordable price. The university enrolls 2,475 students with an average class size of 24. The South Dakota Mines placement rate for graduates is 97 percent, with an average starting salary of more than $66,150. For these reasons College Factual ranks South Dakota Mines, the #1 Engineering School for Return on Investment. Find us online at www.sdsmt.edu and on FacebookTwitter, LinkedInInstagram and Snapchat.

Contact: Lynn Taylor Rick, (605) 394-2554, Lynn.TaylorRick@sdsmt.edu

Upcoming Events

Sunday, Jun. 20, 2021 - Friday, Jun. 25, 2021
4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Monday, Jun. 21, 2021 - Thursday, Jun. 24, 2021
9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Physics
Monday, Jun. 21, 2021 - Thursday, Jun. 24, 2021
9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Materials & Metallurgical Engineering
Monday, Jun. 28, 2021 - Thursday, Jul. 1, 2021
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Geology and Geological Engineering