

Sixty-Ninth Annual Honors Convocation

2019-2020 Academic Year

DEPARTMENTAL AWARDS

Logan Elers, Men's Basketball Scholar Michaela Shaklee, Women's Basketball Scholar Sara Efta, Cheerleader Scholar Ryan Moen, Men's Cross-Country Scholar Kayla Gagen, Women's Cross-Country Scholar Cole Peterson, Football Scholar Carson McDaniel, Men's Golf Scholar Larissa Pawlowski, Women's Golf Scholar Justin Barkow, Soccer Scholar Kevin Ptak, Men's Track Scholar Margaret Thompson, Women's Track Scholar Hannah Stevenson, Volleyball Scholar Chris Mathews, E-Sports Scholar

Atmospheric Sciences

Athletics

Patrick Kozak, Harold and Laura Orville Fellowship

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Chemistry, Biology & Health Sciences

Civil & Environmental Engineering Kayla Bailly, Chemical and Biological Engineering Faculty Award Isaac Sullivan, Chemical and Biological Engineering Faculty Award Hunter O'Connor, Chemical Engineering Achievement Award

Shelby Solem, ACS Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry
Karen Ly, ACS Undergraduate Award in Inorganic Chemistry
Zach Deal, ACS Undergraduate Award in Organic Chemistry
Armand Lannerd, ACS Undergraduate Award in Physical Chemistry
Paycen Harroun, Outstanding Biology Sophomore
Mikayla Hibbard, Outstanding Biology Junior
Kaitlyn Dickinson, Outstanding Biology Senior
Kacee Ehler, Outstanding Biology Senior

Nick Sperry, Outstanding Civil Engineer Junior Emily Sande, Outstanding Civil Engineer Senior Kristen Lerdel, Outstanding Environmental Engineer

Computer Science &	Manasi Paste, Outstanding Senior in Computer Science
Engineering	Luke Videckis, Outstanding Senior in Computer Science
	Adam Esche, Outstanding Senior in Computer Engineering
	Spencer Riddick, Outstanding Senior in Computer Engineering
Electrical Engineering	Liam McEuen,
	Ronald J. Schmitz Award, Outstanding Electrical Engineering Junior
	Skye Rutan-Bedard,
	William A. Hixson Award, Outstanding Electrical Engineering Senior
	Andrew Tobin,
	William A. Hixson Award, Outstanding Electrical Engineering Senior
Geology & Geological	Wyatt Tatge,
Engineering	Jack A. Redden Award, Outstanding Geology Senior
	Michael Cyrier,
	Edward L. Tullis Award, Outstanding Geological Engineering Senior

Humanities	Jacob West, Leslie E. Boyd Technical Communications I Award Darren Nissen, Surbeck-McLearie Technical Communications II Award
Industrial Engineering	Samantha Steffeck, Outstanding Industrial Engineering Student Steven Pepke, Outstanding Industrial Engineering Student Ryan Li, Outstanding Industrial Engineering Student
Materials & Metallurgical Engineering	Fernando Vazquez, Metallurgical Engineering Departmental Service Award William Jackson Carpenter, Metallurgical Engineering Academic Performance Award
Mathematics	Matthew Phillips, Outstanding Senior in Mathematics
Mechanical Engineering	Joseph Allen, Outstanding Mechanical Engineering Senior Samuel Ryckman, Outstanding Mechanical Engineering Senior Sommer Scott, Outstanding Mechanical Engineering Junior Ryan Kappenman, Outstanding Mechanical Engineering Junior Paige Ling, Outstanding Undergraduate Student Service to the ME

Military Science

Cameron Kor, Top Freshman Cadet Bryce Ulrich, Top Sophomore Cadet Taran Multz, Top Junior Cadet Alexia Hodgson, Top Senior Cadet

Mining Engineering & Management

Music

Elisa Swartz, Outstanding Mining Engineering Freshman Charles Dammann, Outstanding Mining Engineering Sophomore Kyle Hughes, Outstanding Mining Engineering Junior Nicholas McKay, Outstanding Mining Engineering Senior

Alexandra Kliche, Arjun Ayyangar Music Scholarship Kyle Bergevin, Charles Hallstrom Memorial Scholarship Rebecca Johnson, Eileen Heilman Scholarship Samantha Pfeiffer, Larry Huisenga Music Scholarship Allan Sipos, Larry Huisenga Music Scholarship Summer Rogers, Larry Huisenga Music Scholarship Ranjun Singh, Margret McIntosh Scholarship Jacey Merkle, Ronald F. & Eunice A. Miller Memorial Music Scholarship Kenji Johnson, SDSM&T Music Scholarship Estefany Mendivil Rodriguez, SDSM&T Music Scholarship Spencer Gerdes, SDSM&T Music Scholarship Emma Volk, Karen Whitehead Music Scholarship

Joseph Brett, Outstanding Physics Junior Layne Tieszen, Outstanding Physics Senior

Christopher Woody,

Outstanding Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences Graduate Student Laura Brunmaier, Outstanding Biomedical Engineering MS Student Aditi David, Outstanding Chemical and Biological Engineering Graduate Student Bhuvan Vemuri, Outstanding Civil Engineering Graduate Student Arjun Ayyangar, Outstanding MS Student in Computer Science and Engineering Travis Grablander, Outstanding Electrical Engineering Graduate Student Kevin Thompson, Outstanding Engineering Management MS Student **Todd Anderson.**

Outstanding Geology and Geological Engineering MS Student, **GEOE Specialization**

Physics

Graduate Education

Kristin Lewis,

Outstanding Geology and Geological Engineering MS Student, GEOE Specialization

Lance Kotter,

Outstanding Materials Engineering and Science Graduate Student Grace DeVault, Outstanding Paleontology MS Student Sharma Timalsina, Outstanding Physics Graduate Student

ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Students recognized with this award are full-time, degree-seeking, undergraduates who have earned 100 or more credit hours and maintained a 4.0 cumulative grade point average.

Trevor Bormann, Metallurgical Engineering and Computer Science

William Carpenter, Metallurgical Engineering

Kacee Ehler, Applied Biological Sciences

Caleb Furse, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Cameron Hainy, Mechanical Engineering

Armand Lannerd, Chemistry and Mechanical Engineering

Joshua Powell, Mechanical Engineering and Electrical Engineering

Madeleine Price, Computer Science

Samuel Ryckman, Mechanical Engineering and Computer Science