Mines News

Release Date Monday, August 12, 2019

Graduate Students from 16 States Now Get In-State Tuition Rates at SD Mines, Saving Nearly $6,000 Annually

SD Mines offers 14 master of science degrees and nine doctoral degrees in subjects ranging from biomedical engineering to physics and mining engineering.

South Dakota School of Mines & Technology is part of an agreement through the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) that allows graduate students in any of the 16 WICHE states to receive the in-state tuition rate starting in the Fall of 2019. This agreement means new graduate students from member states who attend classes on the Mines campus can save close to $6,000 annually.

SD Mines offers 14 master of science degrees and nine doctoral degrees in subjects ranging from biomedical engineering to physics and mining engineering. Interested students can review course offerings and learn more at the SD Mines  Graduate Education webpage. The university also offers three online engineering graduate programs that are consistently ranked among the best in the nation. Distance education programs are not part of the new agreement— but Mines online programs still offer an affordable option for many students.

According to the WICHE website, this agreement is part of the Western Regional Graduate Program (WRGP) that allows master’s, graduate certificate and doctoral students who are residents of WICHE member states to enroll in 400+ graduate programs at some 60 public institutions outside of their home state and pay resident tuition. In fall 2017, 1,500+ students enrolled through WRGP and saved $24.1 million in tuition.

“Our WICHE membership markets our programs to a wide variety of applicants looking for graduate school and encourages them to consider SD Mines. It also provides incentives for western students who earned an undergraduate degree at SD Mines to stay for graduate school and continue their positive economic impact on the state,” says Maribeth Price. Ph.D., dean of graduate education at SD Mines.

The 16-member states in WICHE are spread across the American West. They are Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, U.S. Pacific Territories and Freely Associated States, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.


About SD Mines  

Founded in 1885, the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology is a science and engineering research university located in Rapid City, S.D., offering bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees. The university enrolls 2,529 students with an average class size of 24. The SD School of Mines placement rate for graduates is 97 percent, with an average starting salary of more than $63,350. Find us online at sdsmt.edu and on  Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Snapchat

Contact: Mike Ray , 605-394-6082, Mike.Ray@sdsmt.edu

Upcoming Events

Sunday, Feb. 16, 2020
7:15 p.m. to 9:15 p.m.
Elks Theatre, 512 6th Street
Monday, Feb. 17, 2020
All Day
Tuesday, Feb. 18, 2020
4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Pearson Alumni Center - Meeting Room 1
Tuesday, Feb. 18, 2020
6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Rapid City Performing Arts Center, 601 Columbus Street