Mines News

Release Date Friday, April 29, 2016

Mines Geology Professor Selected as 2016 Honorary Award Recipient out of Nominees from 12 States

RAPID CITY, S.D. (April 29, 2016) – J. Foster Sawyer, Ph.D., South Dakota School of Mines & Technology professor, has been selected as the 2016 Honorary Award recipient by the Rocky Mountain Federation of Mineralogical and Lapidary Societies. 

The award includes two $4,000 scholarships for graduate students funded by the American Federation of Mineralogical Societies Scholarship Foundation. Mines students Kyle Hazelwood of Sutherlin, Va., pursuing his Ph.D. in geological engineering, and Stephanie Loose of Durango, Colo., pursuing her master’s in geology, will receive the scholarships.

Sawyer, associate professor in the Department of Geology & Geological Engineering, was selected among nominees from 12 states.

The Western Dakota Gem and Mineral Society, based in Rapid City, nominated Sawyer for the award, with input from SD Mines alumni Kelli Wold, a 1982 geological engineering alumna, and Steve O’Rourke, a 1983 geological engineering alumnus. 


About SD Mines  

Founded in 1885, the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology is a science and engineering research university located in Rapid City, S.D., offering bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees. The university enrolls 2,778 students with a student-to-faculty ratio of 15:1. The SD School of Mines placement rate is 96 percent, with an average starting salary of $62,929. Find us online at www.sdsmt.edu and on Facebook and Twitter.