# Atmospheric & Environmental Sciences Steering Committee

## **Committee Charter/Purpose:**

A multidisciplinary graduate program involves faculty from multiple academic departments or research centers who coordinate to define the curriculum, offer courses, and supervise research students. It is governed by a program director appointed by the Provost and a steering committee selected from the faculty participating in the program.

The responsibilities of the program director include:

- Establishing the membership of the steering committee and serving as its Chair,
- Managing budgets assigned to the graduate program,
- Determining the list of faculty who are authorized to advise graduate students in the program,
- Defining the graduate admissions process and approving students to be admitted to the program,
- Advising non-thesis Master's students enrolled in the program or delegating another to do so,
- Approving forms, programs of study, theses, and dissertations for students in the program,
- Approving curriculum requests made by program faculty and submitting them to the Council of Graduate Education for consideration,
- Serving as the program representative on the Council of Graduate Education or delegating a representative to serve.

The responsibilities of the steering committee include:

- Proposing and approving program or course changes for the program curricula,
- Advising the program director on budgets, curriculum, admissions, assistantship/fellowship awards, faculty participant lists, and other matters relating to the program.

# Committee Structure/Composition and Term:

The committee consists of:

 A minimum of three faculty members involved in teaching and advising within the program, with broad representation of the departments and research centers whose faculty participate in the multidisciplinary program.
Membership on the committee is not term-based.

#### **Committee Meeting Schedule:**

The committee is convened by the program director as needed.

Advancing the frontier of innovation

SOUTH DAKOTA MINES



# Atmospheric & Environmental Sciences Steering Committee

# **Committee Membership:**

- William Capehart (Program Director Civil & Environmental Engineering)
- Adam French (Civil & Environmental Engineering)
- Lisa Kunza (Chemical, Biological, and Health Sciences)
- Darren Clabo (Civil & Environmental Engineering)
- Saurabh Dhiman (Civil & Environmental Engineering/Chemical, Biological, & Health Sciences)
- Patrick Kozak (Chemical, Biological, & Health Sciences)

## LAST UPDATED: July 2025

**REFERENCE:** <u>Council on Graduate Education</u>; <u>Preamble to Graduate Education</u> <u>Policies</u>; <u>Mines Policy 2-1</u>