

Non-Faculty Exempt Employees Council

Committee Charter/Purpose:

- NFE Council of the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology shall interact with the administration, the faculty, Civil Service Association, and the students for the purpose of improving the quality of the campus environment.
- To promote better employment conditions, improve job efficiency, management training programs, the welfare, and best interests of its members.
- To provide improved channels of communication between middle managers and the administration.
- To promote entertainment, social programs, and activities for the members of the organization and their families.

Membership:

The Council shall be comprised of seven members, each serving two-year terms. Depending on the number of vacancies in a given year, either three (3) or four (4) members to the Council will be elected. Every election shall be by electronic ballot, which will be sent to all NFE employees for their vote. Elections are to be held in the month of May of each year with the terms commencing on July 1. Council members may not serve consecutive terms in office. Candidates for Council shall be nominated either by fellow NFE employees or by self-nomination. The committee shall be led by a Chair, which is an elected position.

Committee Meeting Schedule:

There shall be a minimum of two general membership meetings per year; meeting location, date, and time to be announced by the Chair.

FY'25 Committee Membership:

- Alyssa Shipper (NFE Chair, Assistant Director of Admissions)
- Cheyanne Borbely (NFE Secretary, Admissions Counselor)
- Jesse Holz (Controller, Finance & Administration)
- Darrah Steffen (Assistant Director of the Museum of Geology)
- Sara James (Residence Hall Director)
- Bryce Miner (Project Manager)
- Katie Wahls (Director of Housing & Operations)

LAST UPDATED: July 2025 REFERENCE:

Advancing the frontier of innovation