

University Research Committee

Committee Charter/Purpose:

The Committee aids the Vice President for Research on research-related issues and helps to identify emerging areas and opportunities for the University.

The Committee purpose is to serve as a direct two-way communication channel that faculty and administration can use to convey issues and receive information about research-related concerns. The specific responsibilities of the Committee are:

- Encourage and support the intellectual and research interests of the faculty and students
- Provide a forum to discuss research-related issues at South Dakota Mines
- Promote multi-disciplinary research at South Dakota Mines
- Serve as departmental and research center liaison to inform faculty and students on the availability of support for research and professional development
- Advise on research, sponsored programs, and economic development policies that govern administration of externally funded research
- Assist the Vice President for Research in development of policies and procedures regarding research, intellectual property, patents, licensing, and commercialization
- Assist the Vice President for Research in a review process of internal white papers and proposals
- Assist the Vice President for Research in organization of research symposia and selection of recipients for research awards

Committee Structure/Composition and Term:

The committee consists of:

- Vice President for Research
- Associate Vice President for Research
- Director of Industry, Government and Community Engagement
- Graduate Dean
- Interdisciplinary Lab Directors
- Department representatives

The committee shall be led by a Chair, who is permanently established as the Vice President for Research. Membership on the committee is not term-based.

Committee Meeting Schedule:

The committee is scheduled for the second and fourth Tuesday of each month and shall meet at least monthly during the academic year.





University Research Committee

Committee Membership (2025-26):

- Chair, Vice President for Research: Laurie C. Anderson
- Associate Vice President for Research-Innovation and Entrepreneurship: Beth Lambeth
- Director of Industry, Government, and Community Engagement:
 Ann Brentlinger
- Dean of Graduate Education: Maribeth Price
- CBE: Tanvi Govil
- CBHS: Alexey Lipatov
- CEE: Tao Ye
- EECS: Sebin Gracy
- GGE: Gokce Ustunisik
- HASS: Kayla Pritchard
- IE: Sahao Chen
- MET: Brett Carlson
- MATH: Paul May
- ME: Weibing Xing
- MEM: Rudrajit Mitra
- NANO/BME: Congzhou Wang
- PHYS: Jingbo Wang (Fall), Tula Paudel (Spring)
- AMP: Grant Crawford
- CAPE: David Salem
- EMES: Ed Duke

LAST UPDATED: July 2025

REFERENCE: