Our Staff

Our dedicated staff is here to help. Bryan Schumacher leads the three teams that make up the structure of ITS.

  • The Server Administration and Security team consists of Steve Bauer, Jason Erickson and Nathan Belcher who set up and maintain the servers and ensure system security.

  • The Technical Services team led by Jason Erickson, consisting of Dane Finnesand, Tom Laskowski, Brad O'Brien, Zane Tibke, and Adrian Vopnford provide technical support for students, faculty and staff and physical infrastructure for computers, audio/visual equipment and the network.

  • The Information Services team led by Vickie Bender, consisting of Jon Day, Angie Mattoon, Jamie Sumners, and Minati Alphonso provide Internet application development, university information reporting and website technical support services.
Director of Information Technology Services
Email: Bryan.Schumacher@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-5102
Office: ITS / EP #134
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Network Engineer
Email: Steve.Bauer@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1234
Office: EP 122 / ITS
B.S. South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Email: Nathan.Belcher@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2722
Office: M 103C
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

M.Div., Nyack College/Alliance Theological Seminary
M.S., Dakota State University

Associate Director of Information Services
Email: Vickie.Bender@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1299
Office: ITS / EP 135
A.A. Northern State College
Network Administrator
Email: Mark.Browder@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2646
Office: EEP 144

A.S., College of Southern Nevada

Database/Systems Engineer
Email: Jon.Day@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1296
Office: ITS / EP 143C
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Associate Director of Technology Services
Email: Jason.Erickson@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1234
Office: ITS / EP #140
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Information Support Manager
Email: Dane.Finnesand@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1958
Office: LIB 218B
A.A., Black Hills State University
Support Services Analyst
Email: Tom.Laskowski@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-1234
Office: ITS Help Desk
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
Software Developer
Email: Angela.Mattoon@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-6872
Office: ITS / EP 143A
Application/Business Analyst
Email: Bradley.Obrien@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2215
Office: EEP 142
B.S., University of South Dakota
Software Developer
Email: jamie.sumners@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2217
Office: ITS / EP 143D
B.S., South Dakota State University
Network Administrator
Email: zane.tibke@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1294
Office: ITS / EP 121
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Learning Management System Analyst
Email: Adrian.Vopnford@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-1234
Office: ITS Help Desk

B.S., SD School of Mines & Technology


It is our mission to provide proactive, responsive, people-oriented technology, training and support in the areas of computing, instructional multimedia and networking. In partnership with faculty and the Technology Fellows program, ITS pioneers new learning technologies to provide quality educational experiences outside the traditional classroom or to enhance traditional learning environments.

Having WIFI Issues?

Visit South Dakota Mines WIFI Feedback to report them.

Your response will greatly aid us in finding the deficiencies of our wireless infrastructure on campus.

Need More Help?

Visit the ITS Support Portal.

The ITS Help Desk is located in the Devereaux Library.

Contact Us

(605) 394-1234

After Hours Emergencies

(mission-critical problems /outages)
(605) 939-0455