Mines News

Release Date Tuesday, May 7, 2019

69th Annual West River Math Contest Announces Results

The team from Hill City High School took home the award for Best Team Performance, Class B, during the 69th West River Math Contest at SD Mines. 

RAPID CITY, SD (May 7, 2019) – Results from the 69th annual West River Math Contest held May 6, at South Dakota School of Mines & Technology are listed below. The contest attracted students from throughout the region. Contestants were challenged to demonstrate their mathematical skills on problems chosen from algebra, geometry, precalculus and beyond. Students competed in five divisions – Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II, Advanced Math and the Masters. Prizes were presented to the top five contestants in each division in Class A and Class B. In the Masters category, Class A and Class B are combined.


The award for Best Team Performance went to Hill City in Class B and Spearfish in Class A.


Participating schools:


Class A Schools                                                                      Class B Schools


Chadron High School                                                             Caudle Home School


Douglas Middle School                                                          Custer High School


Douglas High School                                                              Edgemont High School


North Middle School                                                              Greni Academy


Rapid City Central High School                                             Hill City High School            


Rapid City Stevens High School                                            Kimball Public School


South Middle School                                                              Lead-Deadwood Middle School


Southwest Middle School                                                       McIntosh High School


Spearfish High School                                                            Newell Middle School


Sturgis Brown High School                                                    Newell High School


                                                                                                New Underwood High School


                                                                                                Rapid City Christian School


                                                                                                St. Francis Indian School


                                                                                                St. Thomas More School




An award was also presented to the individual earning the highest score in the division, the best of both Class A and Class B. In the results below, that person’s name is labeled with an asterisk.


Division: Algebra I


Class A


Maria Woroniek,* Douglas Middle School


Kaitlynn Prentice, Douglas Middle School


Caitlynn Poirier, Douglas Middle School


Evelyn Haar, Southwest Middle School


Arabella Blom, Southwest Middle School



Class B


Mya Houser, Hill City High School


Luke Rupert, Hill City High School


Tom Solano, St. Thomas More High School


Morgan Peterson, Edgemont High School


Marisa Johnson, Hill City High School




Division: Geometry


Class A


Harley Glayzer,* Douglas High School


Levi Busching, Stevens High School


Ashlynne Utter, Douglas High School


Ava Beck, Douglas High School


Gavin Moore, Douglas High School




Class B


Xavier Thomas-Lewis, Kimball High School


Tell Mollman, McIntosh High School


Elizabeth Tidball, Edgemont High School


Kellen Weber, St. Thomas More High School


Kylie Tornow, St. Thomas More High School




Division: Algebra II


Class A


Megan Zhu, * Rapid City Stevens High School


Simon Krum, Spearfish High School


Grace Sorenson, Chadron High School


Halle Fjelland, Spearfish High School


Marissa Marquez, Douglas High School




Class B


Sam Gibbon, St. Thomas More High School


Trace Houser, Hill City High School


Noah Hamilton, Hill City High School


Jada Bell, Hill City High School


Haleigh Timmer, St. Thomas More High School




Division: Advanced Math


Class A


Michael Reuppel,* Rapid City Central High School


Will Sayler, Spearfish High School


Deven Williams, Douglas High School


Madison Kreutz, Sturgis Brown High School


Sam Tobin, Spearfish High School




Class B


Megan Ackbach, St. Thomas More


Trevor Adrian, Hill City High School


Sidney Schroeder, Hill City High School


Riley Olsen, St. Thomas More High School


Alissa Stephens, St. Thomas More High School




Division: Masters


Erica Houser, Hill City High School


Ella Larson, St. Thomas More


Matthew Quinn, Hill City High School


Katherin Ackbach, St. Thomas More High School


Ella Murray, Spearfish High School


About SD Mines  

Founded in 1885, the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology is a science and engineering research university located in Rapid City, S.D., offering bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees. The university enrolls 2,529 students with an average class size of 24. The SD School of Mines placement rate for graduates is 97 percent, with an average starting salary of more than $63,350. Find us online at sdsmt.edu and on  Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Snapchat

Contact: Lynn Taylor Rick, (605) 394-2554, Lynn.TaylorRick@sdsmt.edu

Upcoming Events

Sunday, Feb. 16, 2020
7:15 p.m. to 9:15 p.m.
Elks Theatre, 512 6th Street
Monday, Feb. 17, 2020
All Day
Tuesday, Feb. 18, 2020
4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Pearson Alumni Center - Meeting Room 1
Tuesday, Feb. 18, 2020
6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Rapid City Performing Arts Center, 601 Columbus Street