South Dakota Mines is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). The HLC is the recognized accrediting agency for the north central states.

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500, Chicago, IL 60604

800.621.7440 / 312.263.0456

All South Dakota Mines undergraduate engineering programs are accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET, which is the recognized accrediting agency for engineering. The BS program in Computer Science is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET,

ABET logo ABET logo - CAC

Additionally, the curriculum in Chemistry is approved by the American Chemical Society.

For information on the graduation and placement rates of students and other indicators of success, visit Student Achievement.

The South Dakota Board of Regents, on behalf of the State of South Dakota, participates in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA). “State authorization” means that a university, such as South Dakota Mines, is authorized to deliver educational programming via distance in the state for which authorization is held. A current list of states participating in SARA can be found here:

Students enrolled in a fully online program at South Dakota Mines may register complaints regarding distance-delivered academic programs by going to the SARA Complaint Procedures section of the South Dakota Board of Regents website.