University Leadership


Executive Council

The following individuals comprise the Executive Council and provide leadership to South Dakota Mines.

Executive Council generally meets once a week. If you have any questions or topics you would like to bring to the attention of Executive Council, please email

Rankin, James

James Rankin, PhD, PE

Roberts, Lance

Lance Roberts, PhD
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Spindle, William

William Spindle, EdD
Vice President of Finance and Administration

Anderson, Laurie

Laurie Anderson, PhD
Vice President for Research

Dlugos, Joseph

Joseph Dlugos, PhD
Associate Vice President for Student Development and Dean of Students

Roberts, Jerilyn

Jerilyn C. Roberts
Associate Vice President for Facilities, Risk, and Services

Melissa Hart

Melissa Hart
Director for Human Resources

No photo availableCassie Kosiba
Interim Director of Athletics

Herman, Jade

Jade Herman, EdD
Chief of Staff, Office of the President


Marc Vaillancourt
Chief Executive Officer, CARA

University Advisory Board University Cabinet