Living On Campus

Peterson Hall with Grubby Statue
Welcome to Residence Life at South Dakota Mines! Almost 1,100 students call our residence halls home while at South Dakota Mines. We guarantee housing for all students who have graduated from high school in the past two years per South Dakota Board of Regents (SDBOR) housing policies and offer limited upper-class housing and apartments for students interested in living on campus. Please take time to look through our website to learn about our residence life program and the housing options we offer.
 

Housing Options

New freshmen and transfer students who graduated HS in the last two years have two types of housing during their first year on campus - Community Living or Peterson Interest Communities. 
All Residence Halls
Playing Video Game

Community Living

Double-occupancy rooms in Connolly and Palmerton Halls.
Community living provides a wide range of activities and learning opportunities for all students to enjoy.
Students Downtown Rapid City

Peterson Interest Communities

Outdoor Pursuits & Exploring Rapid City (and beyond)
These communities are housed in Peterson Hall. They provide programs, events, and activities around these specific themes, allowing students with a common interest to explore together. Interested students must complete an essay on the housing application and space in the program is limited.

Meet Our Staff

Katie Wahls
Director of Housing & Operations
Katie.Wahls@sdsmt.edu

Bryce Nussbaum
Director of Residential Education & Community Standards
Bryce.Nussbaum@sdsmt.edu

Zachary Hair
Residence Hall Director
Zachary.Hair@sdsmt.edu

Sara James
Residence Hall Director
Sara.James@sdsmt.edu

Jeana McIlroy
Residence Life Office Coordinator
Jeana.Mcilroy@sdsmt.edu

Ben Lewis
Graduate Hall Director
Benjamin.D.Lewis@sdsmt.edu

In-Hall Support Staff

2 Residence Hall Directors
1 Graduate Hall Director
5 Assistant Hall Directors
3 Residential Tutors
38 Resident Advisors

Contact Residence Life

Office Hours: Monday - Friday 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.