Our Staff

Our dedicated staff is here to help. Bryan Schumacher leads the three teams that make up the structure of ITS.

  • The Server Administration and Security team consists of Steve Bauer and Neal Hodges who set up and maintain the servers and ensure system security.
  • The Technical Services team lead by Jason Erickson, consisting of Zane Tibke, Brad O'Brien, Kevin Rivera, Nathan Belcher, Dane Finnesand and Angie Mattoon, provide technical support for students, faculty and staff and physical infrastructure for computers, audio/visual equipment and the network.
  • The Software Development team lead by Vickie Bender, consisting of Jon Day, Jamie Sumners and Dave Higaki, provide Internet application development and website technical support services.

Bryan J Schumacher

Director of Information Technology Services
Email: Bryan.Schumacher@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-5102
Office: ITS / EP #134
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Vickie M Bender

Associate Director of Information Services
Email: Vickie.Bender@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1299
Office: ITS / EP 135
A.A. Northern State College

Jason R Erickson

Associate Director of Technology Services
Email: Jason.Erickson@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1295
Office: ITS / EP #140
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Steven J Bauer

Systems Software Specialist
Email: Steve.Bauer@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1295
Office: EP 122 / ITS
B.S. South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Nathan A. Belcher

Computer Support Analyst
Email: nathan.belcher@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-6086
Office: LIB 122
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
M.Div., Nyack College/Alliance Theological Seminary

Jon T Day

Systems Software Specialist
Email: Jon.Day@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1296
Office: ITS / EP 143C
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Dane H Finnesand

Senior Computer Support Specialist
Email: Dane.Finnesand@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1958
Office: ITS / EP 144
A.A., Black Hills State University

David T Higaki

Senior Programmer/Analyst
Email: David.Higaki@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2455
Office: ITS / EP 143A
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Neal H Hodges II

Systems Software Specialist
Email: neal.hodges@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1295
Office: ITS / EP #123
B.S., Black Hills State University

Angela J Mattoon

Communications Network Specialist
Email: Angela.Mattoon@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-6872
Office: ITS / EP 143B

Bradley E O'Brien

Computer Support Team Leader
Email: Bradley.Obrien@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2215
Office: ITS / LIB 112
B.S., University of South Dakota

Kevin A Rivera

Computer Support Specialist
Email: kevin.rivera@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1292
Office: ITS / LIB112
B.S., ITT Technical Institute

Jamie S Sumners

Senior Programmer Analyst
Email: jamie.sumners@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2217
Office: ITS / EP 143D
B.S., South Dakota State University

Zane D Tibke

Communications Network Analyst
Email: zane.tibke@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1294
Office: ITS / EP 121
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
It is our mission to provide proactive, responsive, people-oriented technology, training and support in the areas of computing, instructional multimedia and networking. In partnership with faculty and the Technology Fellows program, ITS pioneers new learning technologies to provide quality educational experiences outside the traditional classroom or to enhance traditional learning environments.