Faculty and Staff

Department Head and Professor
Email: Pierre.Larochelle@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2401
Office: CM 133
B.S., University of California-San Diego
M.S., University of California-Irvine
Ph.D. University of California-Irvine
Professor
Email: Duane.Abata@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-6070
Office: CM 124
B.S., University of Wisconsin-Madison
M.S., University of Wisconsin-Madison
PhD., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Postdoctoral Fellow in Electrochemical Energy Storage
Email: Amir.AbdulRazzaq@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2401
Office: CM 132

B.S., The University of Azad Jammu and Kashmir
M.S., The University of Azad Jammu and Kashmir
M.Phil., The University of Azad Jammu and Kashmir
Ph.D., Soochow University

Associate Professor
Email: Jason.Ash@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-355-3736
Office: ME / CM #128B
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
M.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Ph.D., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Associate Professor
Email: cassandra.Birrenkott@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2496
Office: CM 320B
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Assistant Professor
Email: Nickolaus.Bruno@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2401
Office: CM 246B
B.S., Northern Arizona University
M.S., Northern Arizona University
Ph.D., Texas A&M University
Assistant Professor
Email: Prasoon.Diwakar@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-6704
Office: CM 320A

B. Tech., Indian Institute of Technology
M.S., University of Florida
Ph.D., University of Florida

Assistant Professor
Email: Hadi.Fekrmandi@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2585
Office: CM 130
B.S., University of Tabriz
M.S., University of Tabriz
Ph.D., Florida International University
Lecturer
Email: Amin.Ghorbanpour@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2401
Office: CM 132

B.S., Amirkabir university of Technology
M.S., Tarbiat Modares University
Ph.D., Cleveland State University

Assistant Professor
Email: Joseph.JohnThalakkottor@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2434
Office: CM 317

B.T., Cochin University of Science and Technology
M.S., University of Florida
Ph.D., University of Florida

Instructor
Email: Ardell.Knudson@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-5114
Office: CM 320C
B.S., North Dakota State University
M.S., North Dakota State University
Lecturer
Email: aaron.lalley@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2401
Office: CM 246A
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
M.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Ph.D., South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
Assistant Professor/E.R. Stensaas Chair
Email: Micah.Lande@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2408
Office: CM 169

B.S., Stanford University
M.A., Stanford University
Ph.D.,  Stanford University

 

Lecturer
Email: Peter.McKeon@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2402
Office: CM 319

B.S., University of Pittsburgh
M.S., Georgia Institute of Technology
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology

 

Lecturer
Email: Daniel.Rederth@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2401
Office: CM 131
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
M.S., South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
Ph.D., South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
Lecturer
Email: Juan.Rodriguez@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2401
Office: CM 129

B.S., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
M.S., Ph.D., University of California

Associate Professor
Email: Albert.Romkes@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2255
Office: CM 167
M.S., Delft University of Technology
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Associate Professor
Email: Khosro.Shahbazi@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1665
Office: CM 322
B.S., Sharif University
M.A.S., University of Toronto
Ph.D., University of Toronto
Director of Faculty Development/Research Scientist IV
Email: Andrea.Surovek@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-1932
Office: CM 128A

B.A., B.S., Purdue University
M.S., Purdue University
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology

Machinist (Equipment Technician)
Email: Vasilii.Tseptsura@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2401
Office: CM 220
Pearson Endowed Chair/Associate Professor
Email: Weibing.Xing@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-5170
Office: CM 172

B.S., Ningxia University
M.S., Simon Fraser University
Ph.D., Simon Fraser University

 

Secretary
Email: Brittany.Brzozowski@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2401
Office: CM 129

BS, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh

Program Assistant I
Email: leslee.moore@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1952
Office: ME / CM 129
A.A., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
B.A., Black Hills State University
M.S.P., George Washington University

Emeritus Faculty

Gregory Buck - Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
Daniel F Dolan - Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
Paul "Doc" Gnirk - Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
Vojislav Kalanovic - Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
Lidvin Kjerengtroen - Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
Wayne Krause - Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
Michael Langerman - Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering

Courtesy Adjunct Appointments (Faculty or Research Scientist)

Dr. Charles Baukal, faculty, John Zink Company, LLC