Faculty and Staff

Laurie C Anderson

Department Head and Professor
Email: Laurie.Anderson@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1290
Office: GEOL / MI 303, MUS / PRL 113
B.A., University of Minnesota-Morris
M.S., Bowling Green State University
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Christina L Belanger

Assistant Professor
Email: christina.belanger@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-4074
Office: GEOL / PRL 111
B.A., University of California – Santa Barbara
Ph.D., University of Chicago

Clint A Boyd

Haslem Postdoctoral Fellow/Assistant Professor
Email: clint.boyd@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-5222
Office: GEOL / PRL 213
B.S., University of Wisconsin – Madison
Ph.D., University of Texas – Austin

Arden D Davis

Professor
Email: arden.davis@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2473
Office: GEOL / MI315
B.A., University of Minnesota
M.S., Ph.D., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Registered Professional Engineer (South Dakota)

Edward F Duke

Professor
Email: edward.duke@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2388
Office: EMES / MI 234
B.S., Beloit College
A.M., Ph.D., Dartmouth College

Kurt Katzenstein

Assistant Professor
Email: Kurt.Katzenstein@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-5113
Office: GEOL / MI 316
B.S., M.S., Ph.D., University of Nevada – Reno

Timothy L Masterlark

Associate Professor
Email: timothy.masterlark@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-5326
Office: GEOL / MI 308
B.S., University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire
M.S., University of Wisconsin – Madison
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin – Madison

Zeynep Oner

Assistant Professor
Email: Zeynep.Oner@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-5286
Office: GEOL / MI 312
B.S., Istanbul University
Ph.D., Miami University

Darrin C Pagnac

Assistant Professor
Email: Darrin.Pagnac@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2469
Office: GEOL / PRL 213
B.S., University of North Dakota
M.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Ph.D., University of California – Riverside

Christopher J Pellowski

Coordinator/Instructor
Email: christopher.pellowski@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2465
Office: GEOL / MI 300
B.S., Winona State University
M.S., Fort Hays State University
Ph.D., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Maribeth H Price

Professor
Email: maribeth.price@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2468
Office: GEOL / MI 301
B.A., Dartmouth College
M.A., Ph.D., Princeton University

John Foster Sawyer

Associate Professor
Email: Foster.Sawyer@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2462
Office: GEOL / MI 318
B.S., Furman University
M.S., Ph.D., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Sally Y Shelton

Instructor
Email: Sally.Shelton@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2487
Office: MUS / PRL 114
B.S., Texas A&M University
M.A., Texas Tech University
Postgraduate diploma, University of Cambridge (UK)

Larry D Stetler

Professor
Email: Larry.Stetler@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2464
Office: GEOL / MI 310
B.S., M.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Ph.D., Washington State University

Nuri Uzunlar

Professor
Email: Nuri.Uzunlar@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2494
Office: GEOL / MI 306
B.S., Black Sea University
Ph.D., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Sui Tung

Postdoctoral Research Scientist
Email: Sui.Tung@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2461
Office: GEOL / MI 327C
B.S., University of Hong Kong
M.S., University of Hong Kong
PhD., University of Hong Kong

Cleo J Heenan

Senior Secretary
Email: Cleo.Heenan@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2461
Office: GEOL / MI 305

Emeritus Faculty

  • Dr. James Fox, Professor Emeritus of Geology; Curator of Invertebrate Paleontology Museum of Geology.  PhD University of Wyoming. Sedimentology, petroleum geology and invertebrate paleontology.
  • Dr. Alvis Lisenbee, Professor Emeritus of Geology.  PhD Pennsylvania State University. Structural geology of northern Rocky Mountains and Basin and Range.
  • Dr. James Martin, Professor Emeritus of Geology and Emeritus Curator Museum of Geology.  PhD University of Washington. Vertebrate paleontology and biostratigraphy.
  • Dr. Colin Paterson, Professor Emeritus of Geology.  PhD University of Otago, New Zealand. Economic geology, mineral resources, petrology.
  • Dr. Perry Rahn, Professor Emeritus of Geological Engineering.  PhD Pennsylvania State University. Hydrogeology and environmental geology.
  • Dr. Jack Redden, Professor Emeritus of Geology.  PhD Harvard University. Economic geology, petrology, structural geology, and Precambrian geology.

Adjunct Faculty

  • Mr. Mark Anderson, Director, South Dakota Water Science Center, US Geological Survey, Rapid City, SD
  • Dr. David Bapst, Adjunct Assistant Professor, SDSM&T Geology and Geological Engineering, Rapid City, SD
  • Dr. Rachel Benton, Park Paleontologist, Badlands National Park, Interior, SD
  • Mr. Derric Iles, State Geologist, South Dakota Geological Survey, Vermillion, SD
  • Dr. Andrew Long, Research Hydrologist, South Dakota Water Science Center,
    US Geological Survey, Rapid City, SD
  • Dr. Kelli McCormick, Instructor, SDSM&T Mining Engineering and Management,
    Rapid City, SD
  • Dr. William Roggenthen, Adjunct Professor of Geological Engineering, SDSM&T Geology and Geological Engineering, Rapid City, SD
  • Dr. John F. Stamm,  Hydrologist, South Dakota Water Science Center, US Geological Survey, Rapid City, SD