Faculty and Staff

Department Head and Professor
Email: Laurie.Anderson@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1290, (605) 394-1973, (605) 394-1212
Office: GEOL / MI 303, MUS / PRL 113, MEM / MI 235B
B.A., University of Minnesota-Morris
M.S., Bowling Green State University
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Assistant Professor
Email: Zeynep.Baran@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2461
Office: GEOL / MI 312
B.S., Istanbul University
Ph.D., Miami University
Professor
Email: edward.duke@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2388
Office: EMES / MI 234
B.S., Beloit College
A.M., Ph.D., Dartmouth College
Associate Professor
Email: Kurt.Katzenstein@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2461
Office: GEOL / MI 316
B.S., M.S., Ph.D., University of Nevada – Reno
Assistant Professor
Email: Sarah.Keenan@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2461
Office: PRL 111

B.S., University of St. Andrews
M.S., University of Bristol
Ph.D., University of Tennessee

Email: Kayleigh.Johnson@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2487
Office: PRL 213

B.S., South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
M.S., South Dakota School of Mines & Technology


Assistant Professor
Email: Liangping.Li@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2461
Office: MI 314
M.S., China University of Geoscience
Ph.D., Technical University of Valencia
Professor
Email: timothy.masterlark@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2461
Office: GEOL / MI 308
B.S., University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire
M.S., University of Wisconsin – Madison
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin – Madison
Research Scientist IV
Email: Roger.Nielsen@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2461
Office: MI 322

B.S., University of Arizona
M.S., University of Arizona
Ph.D., Southern Methodist University


Associate Professor
Email: Darrin.Pagnac@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2469
Office: GEOL / PRL 213
B.S., University of North Dakota
M.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Ph.D., University of California – Riverside
Coordinator/Instructor
Email: christopher.pellowski@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2465
Office: GEOL / MI 300
B.S., Winona State University
M.S., Fort Hays State University
Ph.D., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Lecturer
Email: Curtis.Price@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2461
Office: MI 301
B.S., University of Puget Sound
M.S., Dartmouth College
Email: maribeth.price@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-1763
Office: C 2201
B.A., Dartmouth College
M.A., Ph.D., Princeton University

Research Scientist IV, Senior Lecturer
Email: William.Roggenthen@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2461
Office: MI 327A
B.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
M.S., University of Colorado Boulder
Ph.D., Princeton University

Associate Professor/Mickelson Professor
Email: Foster.Sawyer@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2462
Office: GEOL / MI 318
B.S., Furman University
M.S., Ph.D., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Director of Energy Resources Initiative
Email: Daniel.Soeder@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2802
Office: MI 315
B.S., Cleveland State University
M.S., Bowling Green State University
Professor
Email: Larry.Stetler@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2461
Office: GEOL / MI 310
B.S., M.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Ph.D., Washington State University
Assistant Professor
Email: Gokce.Ustunisik@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2461
Office: MI 302
B.S., Ankara University
M.S., Ankara University
Ph.D., University of Cincinnati
Professor
Email: Nuri.Uzunlar@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2494
Office: GEOL / MI 306
B.S., Black Sea University
Ph.D., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Assistant Professor
Email: Kevin.Ward@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2461
Office: MI 304

A.A.S., Linn-Benton Community College
B.S., Pennsylvania State University
M.S., University of Arizona
Ph.D., University of Arizona

Senior Secretary
Email: Cleo.Heenan@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2461
Office: GEOL / MI 305

Emeritus Faculty

Phillip Bjork – Professor Emeritus of Paleontology
Arden Davis - Professor Emeritus of Geology & Geological Engineering 
James E. Fox - Professor Emeritus of Geology and Geological Engineering and Curator Emeritus of Invertebrate Paleontology for the Museum of Geology  
James Martin – Professor Emeritus of Geology 
Colin Paterson - Professor Emeritus of Geology and Geological Engineering 
Perry Rahn - Professor Emeritus of Geological Engineering 

Courtesy Adjunct Appointments (Faculty or Research Scientist)

Mark Anderson – Research Scientist, USGS
Dr. Rachel Benton - Faculty, Retired Park Paleontologist
Dr. Joshua Valder - Faculty, USGS